Minnesota Concealed Pistol Permit

**WARNING**
It is extremely important that if you obtain a Minnesota concealed pistol license,
you must be aware of all the current laws and requirements of this state.
A Minnesota license does not supersede any other state's laws or requirements.

Minnesota honors non-resident permits/licenses from the states they honor. As a resident of Utah you may be able to obtain a permit from; Idaho (Enhanced Only), Nevada, Rhode Island or South Carolina to lawfully carry in Minnesota instead of getting a Minnesota permit.

The permit is valid for 5 years and 5 years upon each renewal*
Emergency permits are valid for 30 days

Important Information

• Under Minnesota law, individuals must obtain a permit to carry a handgun in public. There is no stipulation in the law regarding whether that weapon must be concealed. A permit to carry constitutes a permit to purchase.
• Any applicant who does not meet the criteria as listed in above is not eligible for a permit to carry a pistol.
• The sheriff may also deny the application if there is a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to himself/herself or others if issued a permit to carry.
• Emergency permits may be issued by the sheriff if he/she determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person's household.
• The permit holder must have the permit card and a driver's license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document when requested by a peace officer.
• Within 30 days after changing permanent address, or within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card, the permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff’s office of the change, loss, or destruction. If card is lost or destroyed, permit holder must provide a notarized statement that the card has been lost or destroyed. Failure to provide notification as required by this subdivision is a petty misdemeanor.

Cost

• The fee for a new permit to carry will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100.
• A fee for a renewal permit (applied for before the expiration date of a current permit to carry) will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $75.
• An additional $10.00 fee will be charged for those applying for a renewal after the expiration date on the previous permit, but within 30 days of that expiration date.
• Updated permit fee - $10.

Eligibility

§ 624.714 Subd. 2. Where application made; authority to issue permit; criteria; scope.
(a) Applications by Minnesota residents for permits to carry shall be made to the county sheriff where the applicant resides.
Nonresidents, as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 42, may apply to any sheriff.
(b) Unless a sheriff denies a permit under the exception set forth in subdivision 6, paragraph (a), clause (3), a sheriff must issue a permit to an applicant if the person:
(1) has training in the safe use of a pistol;
(2) is at least 21 years old and a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States;
(3) completes an application for a permit;
(4) is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under the following sections:
(i) 518B.01, subdivision 14; (Violation of an order for protection)
(ii) 609.224, subdivision 3; (Firearms)
(iii) 609.2242, subdivision 3; (Domestic assaults; firearms)
(iv) 609.749, subdivision 8; (Stalking; firearms)
(v) 624.713; (Certain persons not to possess Firearms)
(vi) 624.719; (Possession of firearm by nonresident alien)
(vii) 629.715, subdivision 2; (Surrender of firearms)
(viii) 629.72, subdivision 2; or (Judicial review; release; bail)
(ix) any federal law; and
(5) is not listed in the criminal gang investigative data system under section 299C.091.
(c) A permit to carry a pistol issued or recognized under this section is a state permit and is effective throughout the state.
(d) A sheriff may contract with a police chief to process permit applications under this section. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, the sheriff remains the issuing authority and the police chief acts as the sheriff's agent. If a sheriff contracts with a police chief, all of the provisions of this section will apply.

Training Required

Minnesota Statutes, section 624.714, subd. 2a requires permit to carry applicants to present evidence of having received from a certified instructor training in the safe use of a handgun within one year of an original application or renewal*.
§ 624.714 Subd. 2a. Training in safe use of a pistol.
(a) An applicant must present evidence that the applicant received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original or renewal* application.
Training may be demonstrated by:
(1) employment as a peace officer in the state of Minnesota within the past year; or
(2) completion of a firearms safety or training course providing basic training in the safe use of a pistol and conducted by a certified instructor.
(b) Basic training must include:
(1) instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use;
(2) successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise; and
(3) instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and the restrictions on the use of deadly force.
(c) The certified instructor must issue a certificate to a person who has completed a firearms safety or training course described in paragraph (b). The
certificate must be signed by the instructor and attest that the person attended and completed the course.
(d) A person qualifies as a certified instructor if the person is certified as a firearms instructor within the past five years by an organization or government entity
that has been approved by the Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department's standards.
(e) A sheriff must accept the training described in this subdivision as meeting the requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b), for training in the safe use of a
pistol. A sheriff may also accept other satisfactory evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol.
* Minnesota requires individuals to complete the training upon initial issue and upon all renewals of the permit.

• A non-resident is not required to take the firearms training class in Minnesota. You are only required to present evidence that you have received training in
the safe use of a pistol from an organization or government entity that has been approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety in accordance with
the department’s standards.
• Military members - "Although members of the military received superb firearms training, they must receive training from an instructor that has been certified
by an approved business organization in Minnesota. This additional training pertains to the legal aspects of “permit to carry issues”. Military members can
contact their local sheriff’s office for further clarification and consideration."

Where To Take The Required Training

Minnesota Statutes, section 624.714, subd. 2a requires permit to carry applicants to present evidence of having received from a certified instructor training in the safe use of a handgun within one year of an original application or renewal.
Find business organizations approved to train instructors

Application

Download Application

What Must Accompany The Application

1. A completed application form, signed and dated by the Applicant;
2. An accurate photocopy of a certificate, affidavit, or other document that is submitted as the Applicant’s evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol that
meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, §624.714;
3. An accurate photocopy of the Applicant’s current driver’s license, state identification card, or the photo page of the Applicant’s passport.
4. In addition to the other application materials, a person who is otherwise ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction but who has obtained a pardon
or expungement setting aside the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights, must submit a copy of the relevant order.

Where To Take The Application

Applications must be submitted in person to a Minnesota county sheriff.

Application Process

The county sheriff must either issue or deny a permit within 30 days of the application date.
For additional information pertaining to handgun legislation, refer to state laws or call the office of the Minnesota Attorney General at 651-296-3353.
For additional questions related to Permit to Carry, please send an email to bca.permittocarry@state.mn.us.

Renewals
Out of state permit holders can renew at any sheriff’s office, not prior to 90 days of the expiration date of the current permit.
All permit holders must take an authorized firearms training class within one year prior to your renewal application.
• The fee for a new permit to carry will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100.
• A fee for a renewal permit (applied for before the expiration date of a current permit to carry) will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $75.
• An additional $10.00 fee will be charged for those applying for a renewal after the expiration date on the previous permit, but within 30 days of that expiration date. For late renewals, it is important to note that your expired permit is not valid until you receive your new card and you will not be able to carry until your renewal permit has been approved and issued.
• 31 days after expiration, you will no longer be able to renew your permit, but will have to apply for a new gun permit.

Deliver the application packet, not prior to 90 days of the expiration date of the current permit, in person to the Sheriff’s Department in the county where you currently reside, or for out of state permit holders, to any Sheriff’s Department in the State of Minnesota.
The packet must contain a completed application, signed and dated with the renewal box checked and an accurate photocopy of the certificate of completed authorized firearms training. You must provide an accurate photocopy of a current drivers license, state identification card or the photo page of your passport (not a US citizen but permanent resident must present an I-551 or I-151 card).

For FAQ's or to find out more information click here.