It is extremely important that if you obtain a Nevada concealed firearm permit,
you must be aware of all the current laws and requirements of this state.
A Nevada permit does not supersede any other state's laws or requirements.
This page will only cover Clark County (Las Vegas) since it is the easiest county to apply in, however you can apply in any of the 17 Counties in Nevada. (Carson City, Churchill, Clark, Douglas, Elko, Esmeralda, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Lincoln, Lyon, Mineral, Nye, Pershing, Storey, Whashoe and White Pine.)
Obtaining a Nevada concealed firearm permit will allow a Utah resident to carry a concealed firearm in New Mexico.
The Permit Valid For 5 years and 5 years upon each renewal
* Even though the permit is valid throughout the state of Nevada, Each County regulates the cost and process to obtain the permit. Which means you must start and finish the process in the same County. For example, if you take the firearm class in Clark County you MUST turn in the application and other required documents in Clark County.
NRS 202.3657 Application for Permit; Eligibility; Denial or Revocation of Permit.
Any person may apply to the sheriff of the county in which he resides for a permit on a form prescribed by regulation of the department. Application forms for permits must be furnished by the sheriff of each county upon request.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the sheriff shall issue a permit for one or more specific firearms to any person who is qualified to possess a firearm under state and federal law, who submits an application in accordance with the provisions of this section and who:
(a) Is a resident of this state;
(b) Is 21 years of age or older;
(c) Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to NRS 202.360; and
(d) Demonstrates competence with a firearm by presenting a certificate or other documentation to the sheriff which shows that he:
(1) Successfully completed a course in firearm safety approved by a sheriff in this state; or
(2) Successfully completed a course in firearm safety offered by a federal, state or local law enforcement agency, community college, university or national organization that certifies instructors in firearm safety. Such a course must include instruction in the use of each firearm to which the application pertains and in the laws of this state relating to the proper use of a firearm. A sheriff may not approve a course in firearm safety pursuant to sub-paragraph (1) unless he determines that the course meets any standards that are established by the Nevada Sheriffs and Chiefs Association, or if the Nevada Sheriffs and Chiefs Association ceases to exist, its legal successor.
2. Beginning 10/01/01 Non Residents can apply for a Nevada Non Resident Permit. Non Residents must apply the same as Residents. They must appear in person at any Sheriffs Office.
Detailed list of requirements
You must not be a fugitive from justice.
You must be mentally sound, sane, and competent.
You must never have been admitted to a mental health facility/asylum.
You must not be a habitual user of drugs or alcohol.
No criminal conviction for stalking or domestic violence.
No felony criminal conviction or any misdemeanor criminal conviction that involved the use of violence or threats thereof within 3 years prior to
submitting your application.
No D.U.I. conviction in past 5 years in any state.
You must not be under a restraining order.
You must not have been dishonorably discharged from the US Armed Forces.
You must be a US Citizen or Legal Resident Alien with a valid social security number.
You must submit a completed application with honest answers, all supporting documents.
Applicants must complete an 8 hour firearms course certified by an instructor designated by the county sheriff.
You must pass a required shooting test on a shooting range.
To renew a permit, you must take a 4 hour refresher course.
See the specific county you want to apply in to see a list of instructors.
The course must be taken in Nevada, and within the specific county you want to apply in.
Cost depends on the location of the class and how much the instructor charges.
Where To Take the Required Training
All training must be completed within the county that you are applying in.
Clark County Concealed Firearm Application
What Must Accompany The Application
The certification of completion and firearms proficiency certificate The form requiring a 10-year address history. (5-year for renewals) A Waiver and Authorization To Release Information Form (Allowing the County to conduct a background investigation.) All required forms, completely filled out.Where To Take The Application:Take the completed application, certificates and required forms to the address listed on the application for which county you want to apply in. Questions can be directed to the county sheriff.
After completion of required training and all applicable forms, allow 120 days for the submitted forms to be processed. Upon approval the permit will be mailed to you.