It is extremely important that if you obtain a New Jersey concealed carry license,
you must be aware of all the current laws and requirements of this state.
A New Jersey license does not supersede any other state's laws or requirements.
In New Jersey it is very difficult to obtain a Non-Resident Permit to Carry.
New Jersey laws are very difficult to search through and putting a direct link to the laws is not possible.
Non-Residents - $20.00 payable to the State of New Jersey
Each person applying for a Permit to Carry and Handgun must supply a letter of need, specific in content, as to why they have a need to carry a firearm in the State of New Jersey. If the application is employment-related, then your employer must supply the letter.
Successful completion of a Firearms Safety course
(Example: the NRA “Basic Pistol Course” which consists of a 10 hour course including at least 50 rounds of live fire, safety handling, firearm parts and operation, ammunition and its function, shooting fundamentals, selection, cleaning and storage of a firearm, etc.)
Where To Take The Application
You must apply in person at the nearest New Jersey State Police station
(excluding toll roads, stations on the New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway, and Atlantic City Expressway).
New Jersey State Police
P.O. Box 7068 West Trenton, NJ 08628
Phone: (609) 882-2000
For FAQ's or to find out more information click here to view the New Jersey State Police website.