Effective August 1, 2017 the fee for a Utah concealed firearm permit will increase $20 from the current $37 to $57. Applications dated prior to August 1, 2017 will be accepted until September 1, 2017 without incurring the $20 fee. This change is due to the passage of House Bill 124 during the 2015 Utah... Read More
Today, H.R. 358 – To amend chapter 44 of title 18, United States Code, to more comprehensively address the interstate transportation of firearms or ammunition was introduced to congress. This amendment is to address the problems that people have when flying or driving through states such as New York and New Jersey and legally transporting firearms.... Read More
A 17-year-old can now attend any of our classes to obtain the Utah provisional concealed firearm permit. The Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) cannot accept any applications for the provisional permit until May 9th, 2017. Any applications received prior to May 9th will be returned to the applicant. You must be at least 18 years... Read More
Governor Herbert signed House Bill 198 today, which allows lawful individuals 18 to 20 years old to obtain a provisional concealed firearm permit. The provisional permit will allow a person to carry a concealed firearm on state institutions of higher education (colleges and universities) but prohibit concealed weapons permit holders from carrying on elementary or secondary school... Read More
Bills Passed • H.B.155 - Lowered the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) from .08 to .05 • H.B.198 - Creates a provisional permit to carry a concealed firearm for lawful persons ages 18 to 20 year old. Bills That Did Not Pass • H.B.112 - Would have allowed any lawful person over 21 to carry a... Read More
The House Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Committee voted 7-5 to resurrect and endorse House Bill 237 to allow carrying concealed guns in Utah without a permit. It also contains proposed new, greater protections for victims of domestic violence. It also includes House Committee Amendments incorporated into the bill.
If you ever have to use a firearm to defend yourself or another person and you are not aware of the elements necessary to prove innocence in one’s defense, you are at great risk of losing your freedom and all the material things you have worked hard to get. It’s usually not the shooting itself... Read More
The House has passed H.B.198 and now moves onto the Senate. This bill establishes a provisional permit to carry a concealed firearm for eligible individuals under 21 years of age. See the House Transmittal Letter 1 and read the explanation of the bill here.
The House Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Committee voted 5-5 which shot down H.B.237 which would have modified the requirements for disposition of criminal domestic violence cases, modified notification requirements when a prohibited person attempts to purchase a firearm, and modified weapons law exemptions.
UPDATE: H.B.112 was introduced to the 2017 General Session but was not passed. This bill provided that a business owner who allows a person with a concealed carry permit to carry a firearm onto the owner's property is not civilly or criminally liable under certain circumstances; and provides an exemption for a person, 21 years of age... Read More