It is extremely important that if you obtain a Rhode Island concealed pistol permit,
you must be aware of all the current laws and requirements of this state.
A Rhode Island permit does not supersede any other state's laws or requirements.
The permit is valid for 4 years and 4 years upon each renewal.
Proper Showing Of Need
While there cannot be any set formula or criteria to limit or restrict the Attorney General’s discretion to issue or deny a pistol permit, the Attorney General considers the following factors in assessing an applicant’s proper showing of need.