It is extremely important that if you obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit,
you must be aware of all the current laws and requirements of this state.
A Utah permit does not supersede any other state’s laws or requirements.
Utah Is A Constitutional Carry State
If You Are At Least 21 Years Old & Not A Prohibited Person, You Are Not Required To Obtain A Utah Concealed Firearm Permit To Carry A Fully Loaded Firearm Openly Or Concealed
For More Information Click Here
|Application Type||Initial Fee||Additional Information|
|Utah Concealed Firearm Permit||Utah Residents: $53.25
Residents: In-Person / By Mail: $20.00 Online: $20.75
Non-Residents: By Mail: $25.00 Online: $25.75
|Provisional Permit Switch To Regular Permit
Regular Permit Will Not Be Valid Until 21st Birthday (Submit 90 days before Turning 21)
Residents & NonResidents
|Provisional Permit Switch Information|
|Replacement Permit||$10.00||Replacement Application For Concealed Firearm Permit
(Requires A Notary Signature – Click Here)
|Change Permit Information||Free||Change Your Name/Address|
If you have any disqualifying convictions you will be denied a permit
Utah is a shall-issue state. As long as you meet the minimum requirements below you will be issued a permit
Concealed Firearms Permits in the State of Utah are regulated by the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI)
The Utah “standard” permit is valid for 5 years and 5 years upon each renewal
The Utah “provisional” permit is valid until the individual’s 21st birthday
- Utah Residents: $53.25
- Non-Residents: $63.25
This initial application fee is waived for an applicant who is:
- A current Utah law enforcement officer as described under Section 53-13-103. The officer must provide a letter of good standing from a superior on the agency letterhead. Law enforcement is also exempt from the training requirements. Write “LEO” in the instructor stamp box on the application.
- An active duty service member [ 53-5-702 (1) ] and the spouse of an active duty service member [ 53-5-702 (2) ]. You must provide the Permanent Change of Station (PCS) orders requiring the service member to report for duty in this state.
- A school employee [ 53-5-702 (7) ]. This means you must work in the school during the hours that school is in session and students are present.
The school employee must provide a letter from the school they are employed at, on a school letterhead document that says your name and that you are an employee of the school in good standing. You do not need anything on the letter related to the permit since you are not required to notify the school you have a permit or that you are carrying a firearm. The school has no business knowing this letter will be used to obtain a concealed firearm permit.
Example 1: A teacher, receptionist, principal, staff member, etc. physically works in a school (not telework or remotely) from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at least half of the days on which school is held during a school year. The school employee is eligible to have the initial permit fee waived.
Example 2: A janitor is a school employee but may only work from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. The janitor will not be eligible to have the initial permit fee waived because they do not meet the requirements of working during school hours.
All applicants must be:
- At least 21 years old to apply for the concealed firearm permit
- At least 18 to 20 years old to apply for the provisional concealed firearm permit. Individuals who are at least 17 years old can complete the required training. BCI WILL NOT accept any application until the individual’s 18th birthday.
Residency is determined by your state-issued identification.
- If you live in a state that currently recognizes or has reciprocity with Utah, you must have a valid permit/license from your state BEFORE you can obtain a Utah permit.
- If you live in a state that Does Not recognize the Utah permit, you do not need a permit/license from your state to obtain your Utah permit.
- This requirement does not apply if: you are an active duty service member (and their spouse), who provides BCI with a copy of their orders requiring the active duty service member to report for duty in this state.
All applicants must complete the Utah concealed firearm permit class taught by an approved instructor.
- The training must include general familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed, the safe loading, unloading, storage, and carrying of the types of firearms to be concealed; and current laws defining lawful use of a firearm by a private citizen, including lawful self-defense, use of force by a private citizen, including use of deadly force, transportation, and concealment.
- Training must be in person and CAN NOT be through electronic means (internet or video)
- Provisional permit holders are NOT required to attend a concealed firearm permit class to switch to the regular concealed firearm permit. For more information click here.
Where To Take The Required Training
- Utah DOES NOT accept any online training to obtain the permit
- Utah DOES NOT accept any other training or state permit to satisfy the Utah training requirements
You can find a list of certified instructors on the BCI website, Click Here
We provide EVERYTHING you need in our class including fingerprints, passport picture, copy of your driver’s license/ID, supporting documentation (if applicable), and FREE hand-delivery of your application to BCI
What Must Be Submitted
All Applicants Must Submit:
- A completed concealed firearm permit application. All information must be typed or legibly printed using ink. The certified instructor must have completed the Weapon Familiarity Certification section which includes the applicant’s full name, the instructor’s approved stamp, signature, and date on which the applicant completed the class
- One Photograph: A recent color photograph of passport quality (2″x2″, no hats or sunglasses) taken within the last 60 days and has your name printed on the back
- One Fingerprint Card: (FBI FD-258) The fingerprint card must be completely filled out, writing and prints must be legible, including signatures of both the applicant and the official. All information must be typed or legibly printed using black or blue ink ONLY. Cards with a required field left blank will result in immediate rejection without further processing. Fingerprints must have been taken by a qualified individual. Fingerprints that do not meet the strict requirements will be rejected.
- A photocopy of your non-expired Driver’s License or State issued Identification Card.
- If applicable, documentation showing you were born outside the United States and proof of United States legal residency such as Naturalization Number, Born Abroad Birth Certificate (born on a US military base), valid U.S. Passport, or permanent resident card.
- If applicable, you must provide documentation to support any “Yes” answers.
You can obtain fingerprints and passport pictures from the businesses below
Where To Take The Application
BCI must receive your application within one year from the date it was signed by the instructor.
Applications may be submitted in person or by mail.
Upon receipt of your completed application packet, BCI will process your payment, then applications will be reviewed in the order they were received.
Upon completion of the background investigation, if it is determined that the criteria established by law have been met, the permit will be mailed to you.
Please do not call BCI to check the status of your permit, the review process may take up to 60 days. Whenever someone calls into BCI with a question the employees that answer the phones are the same employees trying to process the applications and issue the permits. The more phone calls they receive slows down the processing time of the applications.
BCI recommends watching your credit card account or checking account to see when the payment went through and then adding another 60 days to that, this will give you an idea of when to expect your permit. Please do not contact BCI before this timeline has lapsed.