You Must Have A Permit/License To Carry A Concealed Firearm In Utah
In Accordance With 76-10-523, Utah Honors ALL States Permits/Licenses
A Utah permit does not supersede any other state's requirements or laws
It is extremely important to be aware of ALL laws and requirements of the state you are visiting
Standard Permit Valid For 5 Years
696,701 total valid permits
262,961 permit holders are Utah residents
433,740 permit holders are non-residents
Provisional Permit Valid Until 21st Birthday
2,738 total valid permits
2,654 permit holders are Utah residents
84 permit holders are non-residents
States That Honor The
Utah "Standard" Permit
37Any Green State
States That Honor The
Utah "Provisional" Permit
19 Light Green
States That Do Not
Honor Utah Permits
14 Red & Orange
Orange states DO NOT recognize the Utah permits but may issue a non-resident permit/license. See the tab below
Constitutional Carry States
The following states have Constitutional Carry. Anyone who can legally possess a firearm and meet the minimum age requirement may carry it concealed in these states without a permit/license.
• Must be at least 18 years old: Arkansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Vermont
• Must be at least 21 years old: Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine*, and West Virginia**
• Must be a resident of their state: Idaho***, North Dakota and Wyoming
* Maine: You must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 if you are Active Duty /Retired Military/Honorably Discharged Veteran
** West Virginia: You must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 if you are Active Duty Military
*** Idaho will allow anyone, including non-residents to carry a concelaed firearm effective July 1st, 2020
Select A Tab To See Additional Information
Currently, 37 other states/territories have reciprocity with the Utah standard permit which allows a person at least 21 years old to carry a concealed firearm.
These states are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire*, North Carolina, North Dakota*, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and Puerto Rico**.
* Only recognize the Utah standard permit if you are a resident of Utah.
** Effective January 1st, 2020 For more information click here.