Reciprocity Map

Important Information
You Must Have A Permit/License To Carry A Concealed Firearm In Utah
In Accordance With 76-10-523, Utah Honors ALL States Permits/Licenses

A Utah permit does not supersede any other state's requirements or laws
It is extremely important to be aware of ALL laws and requirements of the state you are visiting

Overview As Of March 31st, 2019
view statistics on BCI website

Standard Permit Valid For 5 Years
705,438 total valid permits
259,350 permit holders are Utah residents
446,088 permit holders are non-residents

Provisional Permit Valid Until 21st Birthday
2,621 total valid permits
2,527 permit holders are Utah residents
94 permit holders are non-residents

States That Honor The
Utah "Standard" Permit

Dark Green

States That Honor The
Utah "Provisional" Permit

19 Light Green

States That Do Not
Honor Utah Permits

14 Red & Orange

Orange states DO NOT recognize the Utah permits but may issue a non-resident permit/license. See the tab below

Select A Tab To See Additional Information

Currently, 36 other states have reciprocity with the standard permit which allows a person at least 21 years old to carry a concealed firearm in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire*, North Carolina, North Dakota*, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

* Only recognize the Utah permit if you are a resident of Utah.