No Permit Required
It is LEGAL to carry a loaded and concealed firearm without a permit in your residence, on your property, in your vehicle (or a vehicle with the owner's consent), business under your control (your business or has the permission of the owner while in control of the business), and while engaged in the lawful taking of protected or unprotected wildlife as long as the taking of wildlife does not occur within the limits of a municipality (city) in violation of that municipality's ordinances; or upon the highways of the state.
Duty To Notify Law Enforcement
There is NO legal requirement to notify a law enforcement officer you are carrying a firearm or if you have a firearm in your vehicle, home or anywhere else. However, it is highly recommended.
Purchasing & Selling Firearms
It is LEGAL to purchase and sell firearms through a private transaction (private sales) in Utah as long as you are at least 18 years old and not a prohibited person as defined in 76-10-503 and 18 U.S.C. 922.
Background checks are not required for private sales, but using a Bill Of Sale is highly recommended.
It is ILLEGAL, punishable as a Federal felony with up to 10 years in prison, for any individual who makes a profit from buying and selling firearms or ammunition without a Federal Firearms License (FFL).
There is a LOT more information you need to know about purchasing and selling firearms through private sales and purchasing firearms from an FFL Dealer.
NFA Firearms & Suppressors
It is LEGAL to possess, purchase and sell NFA firearms in Utah as long as it is registered with the ATF and the possession and transportation are in compliance with all state and federal laws.
No Firearms Allowed - Utah Prohibited Areas
It is ILLEGAL, even if you have a concealed firearm permit, to carry a firearm in any prohibited area described in 53-5-710.
(1)(e)(ii) A secure area may not include any area normally accessible to the public.
(3) At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to an area in which a firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive is restricted.
Prohibited Areas Include:
• Higher education institutions (Colleges and Universities), one secure area as a hearing room
• Secure facilities (courts, law enforcement, correctional, and mental health facilities)
• Any airport secure area (past security screening checkpoints). See airports & flying with firearms and ammunition below
• House of worship or in any private residence where dangerous weapons are prohibited. See Churches “House Of Worship” and In Your Home & On Your Property below
• Provisional CFP holders on school premises (K-12th schools). See schools below
Native American land is controlled by tribal law. You must check with each tribe before taking a firearm on their land. Some Tribes consider federal and state highways through their property as being under their control.
No Weapon Signs
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm into private businesses with "No Weapon" and "No Firearm" signs.
• These signs Do Not have the force of law, but businesses may have policies that can restrict a person from carrying a firearm. When going in businesses with these signs and carrying a firearm, either open or concealed, you are ignoring the property owners policies. If you are asked to leave by the owner or any employee of the business, you must leave. If you refuse to leave you could be charged with criminal trespass and/or disorderly conduct. Always be aware of the possibility that responding law enforcement who may have been called without your knowledge could arrest you even if you are within the law.
In Your Home & On Your Property
It is LEGAL to have a loaded firearm, including carrying a loaded concealed firearm, in your residence (including any temporary residence or camp) and on your real property without a concealed firearm permit.
• Private property owners CAN include a provision in a lease, document or addendum which prohibits firearms in the residence and on the property, so ensure to read all documents before signing.
Firearms In Vehicles & Parking Lots
It is LEGAL for any lawful person, at least 18 years old, to have a loaded and concealed handgun anywhere in your vehicle or if you have consent from the owner of the vehicle, even if you do not have a concealed firearm permit. Rifles, Shotguns and Muzzle-Loading Rifles must be unloaded unless you have a concealed firearm permit.
It is LEGAL to have a firearm in your vehicle, in any parking lot EXCEPT as prohibited under state and federal law.
Read more important information about parking lots here.
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm on any Utah Transit Authority (UTA) Bus. Individuals who do not have a concealed firearm permit must open carry or have the firearm unloaded, locked in a secure case and not readily accessible.
Read more here.
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm into any Greyhound bus terminal. Greyhound policies DO NOT allow any person to carry a firearm while riding on any Greyhound bus even with a valid concealed firearm permit and firearms are NOT allowed in carry-on or checked baggage.
See Greyhound Baggage Information.
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm on any Utah Transit Authority (UTA) Trax and Frontrunner.
Read more here.
It is LEGAL to carry a concealed firearm in any Amtrak train terminal with a valid concealed firearm permit. You can also transport firearms on an Amtrak train in checked luggage only.
See Amtrak's Policy & Prohibited Items
Places Of Employment
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm at your place of employment. There is no law restricting your possession of a firearm at work, but it does not keep you from being fired if your employer has a "no weapon" policy.
Schools - Read Very Carefully
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm in a public or private elementary or secondary school and institutions of higher education ONLY if you have a valid Utah "standard" permit.
It is LEGAL for Utah "provisional" permit holders to carry a firearm on the property and into any public or private state institution of higher education (colleges and universities) and preschool or child care facilities.
It is ILLEGAL for Utah "provisional" permit holders to carry a firearm on or about school premises (kindergarten through 12th grade) per 53-5-710.(2).
Private schools can restrict firearms per their policies and "no weapon" signs.
Churches “House Of Worship”
It is ILLEGAL to carry a firearm, even with a concealed firearm permit, into a house of worship if notice has been given as provided in 76-10-530.
The following churches have notified BCI of their intent to prohibit firearms in their “houses of worship” | BCI Website
• The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints - as of January 9, 2018
Airports & Flying With Firearms And Ammunition
It is LEGAL to have firearms in a vehicle in the parking lot of an airport and to carry a firearm in an airport nonsecure areas such as the airline ticket counters and baggage claim.
It is ILLEGAL to possess any dangerous weapon, firearm, or explosive in airport secure areas as defined in 76-10-529.
• Traveling with firearms and ammunition must comply with all State and Federal laws, Transportation Security Administration (TSA) rules and airline regulations.
There is a lot of VERY important information including specific information about transporting firearms and ammunition on an airplane that you need to know.
Resturants & Bars
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm into a restaurant or bar that serves alcohol.
It is ILLEGAL to carry a dangerous weapon while under influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, with or without a permit.
If you are at least 21 years old, the blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08.
If you are at least 21 and have a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) it is .04.
If you are under 21 years old, Utah has a “ZERO TOLERANCE” policy for underage drinking. You cannot have ANY measurable amount of alcohol in your system.
Effective December 30th, 2018 The BAC Limit Will Be Lowered From .08 To .05 | 41-6a-502
State Parks, Wildlife Management Areas, National Parks & Forests
It is LEGAL to carry a firearm in any state park, state wildlife management area (WMA), state & national wildlife areas and refuges, national forests, and national parks. Open carry is allowed in these areas, without a permit as long as the firearm is unloaded. Concealed carry is allowed in these areas with a valid concealed firearm permit.
It is ILLEGAL to carry a firearm in any buildings owned by the federal government (any building people work in) on any state park, national forest or national park. All federal buildings must be posted or you must be informed they are a federal building.
Note: Restrooms and picnic shelters that are free standing and not part of another building should not be considered a federal building.
Minors In Possession Of Firearms
It is ILLEGAL for a minor (person under 18 years old) to be in possession of a firearm unless the minor has the permission of their parent or guardian to have the weapon or the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian while they have the weapon in their possession as described in 76-10-509.
It is ILLEGAL for a minor to be in possession of a handgun as described in 76-10-509.4.
• There are exceptions for minors being in possession of firearms under 76-10-512. Target concessions, shooting ranges, competitions, and hunting excepted from prohibitions.
Self Defense Laws
It's not surprising that most people do not know the self-defense and defense of property laws, and when you can legally use force up to and including deadly force in the state of Utah. It's not something an average citizen knows, but it is something that is very important to know.
Utah State-Made Firearms Protection Act
The Utah State-Made Firearms Protection Act was passed in 2010. It addresses the legal status of a firearm manufactured in the state for use within the state and provides that a firearm or one of the various firearm-related items manufactured in the state for in-state use is not subject to federal firearms laws and regulations.
Constitution of Utah - Firearm Laws
See the Constitution of Utah - Firearm Laws Constitution of Utah, Article I, Section 1. [Inherent and inalienable rights.], Section 6. [Right to bear arms.] and other important information.
It is LEGAL to own and carry any type of knife as long as you are not a restricted person as defined in 76-10-503.
Legal knives include a butterfly knife, dirk, dagger, stiletto, bowie knife, automatic, gravity, switchblade or a disguised knife (in a belt buckle, necklace, etc.)