Utah's #1 Resource For Gun Laws

We provide all Utah and Federal gun laws in one place, with easy to understand explanations. We do not provide legal advice.

For Legal Advice Contact

James D. "Mitch" Vilos

Concentrating In Personal Injury And Firearms Law

Concealed Firearm Permit Cost Increase
Effective January 1st, 2019, the fingerprint-based background check processing fee that the FBI charges will increase.
This will also cause the cost for the concealed firearm permit to increase by $1.25.
The new fee will be - Utah Residents: $53.25 | Non-Residents: $63.25

REMINDER
Effective December 30th, 2018, the blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) will be lowered from .08 to .05.
It is illegal to carry a dangerous weapon while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
See more here.

13 Feb
S.B. 45 Domestic Violence Revisions Sections Affected: U.C.A. 77-36-1. Definitions. This Bill would add "aggravated cruelty to an animal, as described in Subsection 76-9-301, with the intent to harass or threaten the other cohabitant" to the definitions of...
Read More
13 Feb
H.B. 209 Extreme Risk Protective Order Sections Affected: U.C.A. 53-10-208.1. Magistrates and court clerks to supply information. Section Created: Title 78B, Chapter 7, Part 5, Extreme Risk Protective Order Act. This Bill is what's called...
Read More
13 Feb
H.B. 190 Liability of Firearm Custodian Section Created: U.C.A. 53-5a-103.5. Liability of firearm custodian. Let's start off with an off-topic question: If you allow one of your friends to borrow your car and they got in an accident because...
Read More
2 Feb
H.B. 114 Self-Defense Amendments Section Affected: U.C.A. 76-2-402.  Force in defense of person -- Forcible felony defined. U.C.A. 76-10-506.  Threatening with or using dangerous weapon in fight or quarrel. Under this Bill it would change the wording...
Read More
1 2 3 8