Utah Recognizes ALL States Permits/Licenses

For Information About Constitutional Carry In Utah Click Here

Utah Residents: 38 States

Recognize The Utah Permit

Utah Residents: 20 States

Recognize The Utah Provisional Permit

Non-Residents: 31 States

Recognize The Utah Permit

Non-Residents: 18 States

Recognize The Utah Provisional Permit

14 States

Do NOT Recognize Utah Permits

28 States

Constitutional Carry (Depending On Age)

A Utah concealed firearm permit does not supersede any other state’s requirements or laws
It is extremely important to be aware of ALL laws and requirements of the state you are visiting

Map Key

Regular Permit
(ALL Green States)

Provisional Permit
(Light Green States Only)

Do Not Recognize Utah Permits
(Red States)

Click/Tap A State Below On The Interactive Map To View More Information

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

NOTE: Puerto Rico is not listed on this map. Puerto Rico recognizes all other state’s permits.
Must Be At Least 21 Years Old – More Information Here

Select A Tab Below For Additional Information

Utah Residents = 38 States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine*, Michigan*, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire*, North Carolina, North Dakota*, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico.

* These states only recognize resident permits

Non Residents = 31 States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Utah Residents = 20 States

Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Maine*, Michigan*, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Wyoming.

* Only recognize resident permits

Non Residents = 18 States

Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Wyoming.

Constitutional Carry = 29 States

Anyone who can legally possess a firearm, and meets the minimum age requirement, may carry a concealed handgun in the following states without a permit/license.

  • Alabama: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Alaska: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Arizona: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Arkansas: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Florida: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Georgia: Must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 years old who are Active Duty/Honorably Discharged Veteran
  • Idaho: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Indiana: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Iowa: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Kansas: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Kentucky: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Louisiana: Must Be A Resident Of Louisiana
  • Maine: Must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 years old who are Active Duty/Retired Military/Honorably Discharged Veteran
  • Mississippi: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Missouri: Must be at least 19 years old OR at least 18 years old for military
  • Montana: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Nebraska: Must be at least 21 years old
  • New Hampshire: Must be at least 18 years old
  • North Dakota: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Ohio: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Oklahoma: Must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 years old who are Active Military, National Guard, Reserve, or Honorably Discharged Veterans
  • South Carolina: Must be at least 18 years old
  • South Dakota: Must be at least 18 years old
  • Tennessee: Must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 years old and are Active Military
  • Texas: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Utah: Must be at least 21 years old
  • Vermont: Must be at least 18 years old
  • West Virginia: Must be at least 21 years old OR at least 18 years old and are Active Military, National Guard, or Reserve
  • Wyoming: Must be at least 21 years old

NOTE: The BCI website is incorrect. They refuse to list Puerto Rico under reciprocity until the Territory has a website that says they recognize all other state’s permits.

Standard Permit Provisional Permit
State Recognition Status Home State Permit Required to apply for Utah permit Home State Permit NOT Required to apply for a Utah permit Home State Permit Required to apply for a Utah permit Home State Permit NOT Required to apply for a Utah permit
Alabama Both
Alaska Standard Only
Arizona Standard Only
Arkansas Both
California Neither
Colorado Standard Only
Connecticut Neither
Delaware Standard Only
Florida Standard Only
Georgia Both
Hawaii Neither
Idaho Both
Illinois Neither
Indiana Both
Iowa Standard Only
Kansas Standard Only
Kentucky Standard Only
Louisiana Standard Only
Maine Both
Maryland Neither
Massachusetts Neither
Michigan Both
Minnesota Neither
Mississippi Both
Missouri Both
Montana Both
Nebraska Standard Only
Nevada Both
New Hampshire Standard Only
New Jersey Neither
New Mexico Neither
New York Neither
North Carolina Both
North Dakota Both
Ohio Both
Oklahoma Both
Oregon Neither
Pennsylvania Standard Only
Rhode Island Neither
South Carolina Neither
South Dakota Both
Tennessee Both
Texas Standard Only
Utah
Vermont Both
Virginia Standard Only
Washington Standard Only
West Virginia Standard Only
Wisconsin Standard Only
Wyoming Both
District of Columbia Neither

 

Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) website

14 States Do Not Recognize Utah permits

California, Connecticut*, Hawaii, Illinois, Oregon, Maryland*, Massachusetts*, Minnesota*, New Jersey*, New Mexico, New York, Rhode Island*, South Carolina**, and Washington D.C*.

* It may be possible for a Utah resident to obtain a non-resident permit/license from a state listed above which would allow you to carry a concealed firearm within that state. All information to obtain these state’s non-resident permits/licenses is provided below.

** South Carolina (as of March 7th, 2024) is a Constitutional Carry state. As weird as it is South Carolina does not recognize the Utah permits but this no longer matters. Anyone at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm can carry fully loaded firearms, openly or concealed without a permit. SLED Guidance

Minnesota | New Mexico

NOTE: This is what we call a “Loop Hole” or “Workaround”.
Minnesota and New Mexico do not recognize the Utah concealed firearm permit. However, if you obtain a permit/license from the states below it will allow you to carry a concealed firearm in Minnesota and/or New Mexico.

  • Arizona Concealed Weapon Permit: Will allow you to carry in New Mexico. No additional training needed.
  • Idaho Enhanced Concealed Weapon License (ECWL): Will allow you to carry in Minnesota and New Mexico. Additional classroom and live fire range qualification is required.

Arizona

Concealed Weapon Permit

Idaho

Idaho Enhanced Concealed Weapon License

Connecticut

State Permit to Carry Pistol and Revolvers

Maryland

Wear And Carry Permit

Massachusetts

License to Carry

Minnesota

Permit To Carry A Pistol

New Jersey

Permit to Carry a Handgun

Rhode Island

Pistol Permit

South Carolina

Concealed Weapons Permit

Washington D.C.

Concealed Carry Pistol License

Overview As Of December 31st, 2023
View Statistics On BCI Website

Standard Permits
687,434 Total Valid Permits
259,229 Permit Holders Are Utah Residents
428,205 Permit Holders Are Non-Residents

Provisional Permits
1,993 Total Valid Permits
1,900 Permit Holders Are Utah Residents
93 Permit Holders Are Non-Residents