Utah Recognizes ALL States/Territories Permits/Licenses
Effective May 5th, 2021 anyone, resident or nonresident, at least 21 years old, and not a prohibited person as defined in 76-10-503 and 18 U.S.C. 922, can carry a fully loaded firearm concealed without a permit EXCEPT on any school premises or other State prohibited areas and Federal prohibited areas.
States That Honor The
Utah “Standard” Permit
Standard Permit Holders Can Carry In
UTAH & ALL Green States/Territory
States That Honor The
Utah “Provisional” Permit
Provisional Permit Holders Can Carry In
UTAH & Light Green States ONLY
States That Do Not
Honor Utah Permits
Utah Permit Holders CANNOT Carry In
Any Red Or Orange State
Orange states DO NOT recognize the Utah permits
but may issue a non-resident permit/license
A Utah concealed firearm permit does not supersede any other state’s requirements or laws
It is extremely important to be aware of ALL laws and requirements of the state you are visiting
Select A State Below To View More Information
Select A Tab Below For Additional Information
Currently, 37 other states/territories have reciprocity with the Utah standard permit which allows a person at least 21 years old to carry a concealed firearm.
These states are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire*, North Carolina, North Dakota*, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and Puerto Rico**.
* Only recognize the Utah standard permit if you are a resident of Utah.
** Effective January 1st, 2020 For more information click here.
Currently, 19 other states have reciprocity with the provisional permit which allows an 18 year old to carry a concealed firearm.
These states are:
Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota*, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, and Wyoming.
* Only recognize the Utah provisional permit if you are a resident of Utah.
There are currently 19 states that have Constitutional Carry. Anyone who can legally possess a firearm and meet the minimum age requirement may carry a concealed handgun in these states without a permit/license.
- Must be at least 18 years old: Idaho, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, South Dakota, and Vermont
- Must be at least 21 years old: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas*, Iowa (Effective AFTER July 1, 2021), Kansas, Kentucky, Maine**, Oklahoma***, West Virginia****, and Utah
- Must be a resident of their state: North Dakota, and Wyoming
* Arkansas: Any person 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm OR those who are 18 years of age or older who are Active Military, National Guard, Reserve, or Honorably Discharged Veterans.
** Maine: Any person 21 years of age or older who
can legally possess a firearm OR those who are 18 years of age or older who are Active Duty /Retired Military/Honorably Discharged Veteran.
*** Oklahoma: Any person 21 years of age or older who can legally possess a firearm OR those who are 18 years of age or older who are Active Military, National Guard, Reserve, or Honorably Discharged Veterans.
**** West Virginia: Any person 21 years of age or older who
can legally possess a firearm OR those who are 18 years of age or older who are Active Duty Military, National Guard, or Reserve.
|Standard Permit||Provisional Permit|
|State||Recognition Status||Home State Permit Required to apply for Utah permit||Home State Permit NOT Required to apply for a Utah permit||Home State Permit Required to apply for a Utah permit||Home State Permit NOT Required to apply for a Utah permit|
|New Hampshire||Standard Only||✔||✔|
|West Virginia||Standard Only||✔||✔|
|District of Columbia||Neither||✔||✔|
Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) website
Currently, 14 states Do Not recognize the Utah permits.
These states are California, Connecticut*, Hawaii, Illinois, Oregon, Maryland*, Massachusetts*, Minnesota*, New Jersey*, New Mexico, New York, Rhode Island*, South Carolina*, and Washington D.C*.
* It may be possible for a Utah resident to obtain a non-resident permit/license from a state listed above which would allow you to carry a concealed firearm within that state. All information to obtain these state’s non-resident permit/license is provided below.
Click on an image below to find out more information
Carry In Minnesota And/Or New Mexico
NOTE: To carry a concealed firearm in Minnesota and/or New Mexico, you can obtain a nonresident permit/license from a different state, even though the state already recognizes the Utah permit.
• Minnesota & New Mexico = Idaho “Enhanced” Concealed Weapon License
• Minnesota = Nevada Concealed Firearm Permit
• New Mexico (EASIEST) = Arizona Concealed Weapon Permit
We provide the Arizona permit packet for FREE. Contact us today!
(we charge $10 to complete the fingerprints)
Standard Permit Valid For 5 Years
728,291 Total Valid Permits
297,621 Permit Holders Are Utah Residents
430,670 Permit Holders Are Non-Residents
Provisional Permit Valid Until 21st Birthday
3,844 Total Valid Provisional Permits
3,743 Provisional Permit Holders Are Utah Residents
101 Provisional Permit Holders Are Non-Residents