Reciprocity Map

Important Information
You Must Have A Permit/License To Carry A Concealed Firearm In Utah
In Accordance With 76-10-523, Utah Honors ALL States Permits/Licenses

A Utah permit does not supersede any other state's requirements or laws
It is extremely important to be aware of ALL laws and requirements of the state you are visiting

As Of December 31st, 2018

There Are 704,784 Total Valid Standard Permits
257,836 Permit Holders Are Utah Residents 

446,948 Permit Holders Are Non-Residents

There Are 2,427 Total Valid Provisional Permits
2,339 Provisional Permit Holders Are Utah Residents
88 Provisional Permit Holders Are Non-Residents

Years Permit
Is Valid


States That Honor
The Utah "Standard" Permit


States That Honor The
Utah "Provisional" Permit


States That Do Not Honor
The Utah Permits


Select A State Below For Additional Information

Map Colors
Dark Green: Recognize the Utah standard permit ONLY and MUST be at least 21 years old
Light Green: Recognize the Utah standard & provisional permits. Must be at least 18 years old
Red: DO NOT recognize the Utah permits and DO NOT issue a non-resident permit/license
Orange: DO NOT recognize the Utah permits, but may issue a non-resident permit/license

Select A Tab To See Additional Information About Utah Permits

Currently, 36 other states have reciprocity with the standard permit which allows a person at least 21 years old to carry a concealed firearm in their state.

These states are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire*, North Carolina, North Dakota*, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

* Only recognize the Utah permit if you are a resident of Utah.

Constitutional Carry states:
• If you are not a restricted person, and at least 21 years old, you can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, New Hampshire, and West Virginia.
• Idaho, North Dakota, and Wyoming are also Constitutional Carry states, but you must be a resident of their state to carry a concealed handgun without a permit.