Renew A Utah Concealed Firearm Permit

A Utah Standard Permit Cannot Be Renewed More Than 90 Days Before It Expires
Standard Permit Holders Are NOT Required To Attend A Class To Renew A Permit Unless The Permit Has Been Expired For More Than One Year

A Utah Provisional Permit Cannot Be Renewed
See The Tab Below For More Information

BCI sends a renewal notice by mail 60 days prior to the expiration date. To ensure you receive the notice, you must ensure BCI has your correct personal information such as name and address.

Military Service Members:
Renewal fees are waived for all Active Duty or Active Guard & Reserve (AGR) service members and spouses of an active duty service member.
Service members and spouses must appear to BCI in person and provide a copy of the service member’s current Active Duty orders.
Service members in the Reserve and National Guard do not qualify.

Late Fee:
Expired less than 30 days = No Late Fee
Expired for more than 30 days but less than one year = $7.50 late fee
Expired for more than 1 year = Cannot Be Renewed.  Applicants must retake the initial class. See our classes here.

Important Information
As of May 29th, 2019, all applicants are required to watch a firearms safety/suicide prevention video prior to submitting an application.
The video is available in the online renewal process AND below.

Renewal Fee

Utah residents: $20.75
Nonresidents: $25.75
(there is a $0.75 convenience fee to renew online)

Please use caution and DO NOT renew your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit through any site other than the official Utah Department of Public Safety website. There are scam websites that say they can renew your Utah permit. Please be aware that the ONLY website to renew your Utah permit is: https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms.

You Must Have
• The ability to upload a passport quality photograph (2″ x 2″)
• The information on your current permit.
• Payment using a credit/debit card.

Non-Resident Proof Of Permit
If you reside in a state that recognizes or has reciprocity with Utah, you must have a valid permit/license from your home state and upload a copy of it. Residency will be determined by your state-issued identification. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply.

If you need assistance during the online submission of your concealed firearm permit, please call 877-988-3468

Application Process

Upon receipt of your completed application packet, BCI will process your payment, then applications will be reviewed in the order they were received.
Upon completion of the background investigation, if it is determined that the criteria established by law have been met, the permit will be mailed to you.
Please do not call BCI to check the status of your permit, the review process may take up to 60 days. Whenever someone calls into BCI with a question the employees that answer the phones are the same employees trying to process the applications and issue the permits. The more phone calls they receive slows down the processing time of the applications.
BCI recommends watching your credit card account or checking account to see when the payment went through and then add another 60 days to that, this will give you an idea of when to expect your permit. Please do not contact BCI before this timeline has lapsed.

BCI sends a renewal notice by mail 60 days prior to the expiration date. To ensure you receive the notice, you must ensure BCI has your correct personal information such as name and address.

Military Service Members:
Renewal fees are waived for all Active Duty or Active Guard & Reserve (AGR) service members and spouses of an active duty service member.
Service members and spouses must appear to BCI in person and provide a copy of the service member’s current Active Duty orders.
Service members in the Reserve and National Guard do not qualify.

Late Fee:
Expired less than 30 days = No Late Fee
Expired for more than 30 days but less than one year = $7.50 late fee
Expired for more than 1 year = Cannot Be Renewed.  Applicants must retake the initial class. See our classes here.

Important Information
As of May 29th, 2019, all applicants are required to watch a firearms safety/suicide prevention video prior to submitting an application.
The video is available on the BCI website AND below.

Renewal Fee

Utah residents: $20.00
Nonresidents: $25.00

Download A Renewal Application

   Renewal Application

What Must Accompany The Application
• A Passport quality photograph (2″ x 2″)
• The information on your current permit.
• Payment:
– Complete the credit card information on the bottom of the form
– Include a check or money order payable to the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification or Utah BCI. Do not send cash in the mail

Completed Applications & Documents Are Submitted To:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
Address: 3888 West 5400 Taylorsville,  Utah 84129
Phone: (801) 965-4445
Hours: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Closed all State and Federal holidays.

Non-Resident Proof Of Permit
If you reside in a state that recognizes or has reciprocity with Utah, you must have a valid permit/license from your home state and submit a copy of it with your renewal application. Residency will be determined by your state-issued identification.
If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply.

Application Process

Upon receipt of your completed application packet, BCI will process your payment, then applications will be reviewed in the order they were received.
Upon completion of the background investigation, if it is determined that the criteria established by law have been met, the permit will be mailed to you.
Please do not call BCI to check the status of your permit, the review process may take up to 60 days. Whenever someone calls into BCI with a question the employees that answer the phones are the same employees trying to process the applications and issue the permits. The more phone calls they receive slows down the processing time of the applications.
BCI recommends watching your credit card account or checking account to see when the payment went through and then add another 60 days to that, this will give you an idea of when to expect your permit. Please do not contact BCI before this timeline has lapsed.

Provisional Concealed Firearm Permits Cannot Be Renewed
It Expires On The Holders 21st Birthday

Provisional permit holders must apply for the standard concealed firearm permit by submitting:

  1. A completed concealed firearm permit application. All information must be typed or legibly printed using ink. This includes honestly answering all questions.
  2. Copy of your provisional permit. DO NOT retake the training class if your provisional permit is less than one year expired – see picture
    Applications that are not legible will be returned to the applicant.
  3. One Photograph: A recent color photograph of passport quality (2″ x 2″)
    The photo must have been taken within the last 60 days and your name must be printed on the back of the photo.
  4. One Fingerprint Card: (FBI FD-258) The fingerprint card must be completely filled out, writing and prints must be legible, including signatures of both applicant and official
    All information must be typed or legibly printed using black or blue ink ONLY.
    Cards with a required field left blank will result in immediate rejection without further processing.
    Fingerprints must have been taken by a qualified technician. Prints that do not meet the strict requirements will be rejected.
  5. Photocopy of your non-expired Driver’s License or State issued Identification Card.
  6. If you were born outside the United States you must provide proof of United States legal residency such as Naturalization Number, Born Abroad Birth Certificate (born on a US military base), valid U.S. Passport, or permanent resident card.
  7. If applicable, you must provide documentation to support any “Yes” answers.
  8. Application fee ($53.25 residents or $63.25 nonresidents)

You can obtain fingerprints and passport pictures from the businesses below

Fingerprint Services:
Utah Firearm and Security Training, LLC – $10.00
Bureau of Criminal Investigation – $15.00
Also available at your local police department or Sheriff’s office, cost varies

Passport Picture Services:
Utah Firearm and Security Training, LLC – $5.00
Bureau of Criminal Investigation – $15.00
Walmart – $7.44
Target – $9.99
Walgreens – $12.99
Fed Ex – $15.00
Also available at other businesses, cost varies

Where To Take The Application

BCI must receive the application within one year from the date the provisional permit expires.
Applications may be submitted in person or by mail to:
Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification
Address: 3888 West 5400 South, Taylorsville, Utah 84129
Hours: Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm (Closed all holidays)
Phone: (801) 965-4445
E-Mail: dpsfirearms@utah.gov

Application Process

Upon receipt of your completed application packet, BCI will process your payment, then applications will be reviewed in the order they were received.
Upon completion of the background investigation, if it is determined that the criteria established by law have been met, the permit will be mailed to you.
Please do not call BCI to check the status of your permit, the review process may take up to 60 days. Whenever someone calls into BCI with a question the employees that answer the phones are the same employees trying to process the applications and issue the permits. The more phone calls they receive slows down the processing time of the applications.
BCI recommends watching your credit card account or checking account to see when the payment went through and then add another 60 days to that, this will give you an idea of when to expect your permit. Please do not contact BCI before this timeline has lapsed.

Laws

53-5-707. Concealed firearm permit — Fees
(1)(d) Concealed firearm permit renewal fees for active duty service members and spouses of an active duty service member shall be waived.
(2) The renewal fee for the permit is $20. A nonresident shall pay an additional $5 for the additional cost of processing a nonresidential renewal
(4)(a) The late fee for the renewal permit is $7.50.
(b) As used in this section, “late fee” means the fee charged by the bureau for a renewal submitted on a permit that has been expired for more than 30 days but less than one year.

53-5-702. Definitions.
(1) “Active duty service member” means a person on active military duty with the United States military and includes full time military active duty, military reserve active duty, and national guard military active duty service members stationed in Utah.
(2) “Active duty service member spouse” means a person recognized by the military as the spouse of an active duty service member and who resides with the active duty service member in Utah.

53-5-712. Armed Forces — Permit requirements — Exemptions.
An active duty service member of the United States Armed Forces who possesses a Utah concealed firearm permit is exempt from the requirement in Subsection 53-5-704(4)(a) when renewing a Utah concealed firearm permit.